It is currently Thu Jun 06, 2024 1:19 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

How does UDP work for you
I had no problems before and UDP seems fine 54%  54%  [ 27 ]
I had no problems before and UDP is worse 26%  26%  [ 13 ]
I was getting disconnects before but UDP fixes it 8%  8%  [ 4 ]
I was getting disconnects before and UDP makes it better, but still not totally fixed 2%  2%  [ 1 ]
I was getting disconnects before and UDP does not fix it 8%  8%  [ 4 ]
I was using Jey's tunnel and UDP without his tunnel fixes my disconnects 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
I was using Jey's tunnel and UDP without his tunnel still has disconnects 2%  2%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 50

Author Message
User avatar
 

Team: Aidelon
Main: goldstar-stations
Level: 2020
Class: Engineer

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 12:54 pm
Post Re: Please test the UDP
the desyncs are caused by the protocol itself. UDP/IP is a connectionless data protocol because unlike TCP/IP you do not have the huge overhead in the packets since you toss out the receive ACK and there is no way to track lost packets. also packets out of order do not get reorganized.

its a marvelous way to move a LOT of data really fast. but it takes a lot of work to make things like games run well with UDP/IP.

TCP/IP has a 3 way handshake. it talks to who it wants and asks how much data that system can handle at a time with its bandwidth,the target system replys back saying "yea sure..about this much!" and then the client using the TCP/IP receives that and starts sending data. if it gets backed up and there is too much data coming the target host can scream "slow down! too fast!" and the client sending the data can moderate it to a speed that the host can better manage.

all this overhead makes TCP/IP perfect if you absolutely must get every part of the packets. you wouldn't want to send an Email for instance and get a garbled message arrive at the end. every packet needs to be there. but to do that you get all the overhead that slows everything down. part of the problem SS experiences is its data throughput because it has a HUGE overhead it has to manage using TCP/IP.

to give you a point of reference to dumb it down or perhaps give more information if you want to learn more here is a pic that will explain the size difference between them.
Attachment:
TCP UDP headers.JPG


ahh also one problem i have been having a lot lately with the UDP is trying to warp and getting "DCed" (ofc as i explained earlier its not really a connection...just one tossing the other a ton of junk and not waiting for replys XD) the problem doesn't happen with TCP but i also don't have problems at certain times of the day and i will experience a boost in performance using the UDP.

so i can't say its a total loss. it looks like the best way to go but compensating for UDP's shortcomings is going to take a wile and will no doubt be a daunting task. those who are about to join battle with the code of evil...we salute you! :wink: 8)


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Image


Sat Oct 11, 2008 10:18 pm
Profile
User avatar
 

Team: Strawberry Pancakes
Main: new charchter
Level: 2097
Class: Speed Demon

Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2004 1:25 pm
Location: /=Idaho=\
Post Re: Please test the UDP
Only problem I have is it takes a long time from logging in to getting in sync with my ship.... I hit the "use character" button and it takes 10-15 seconds to sync me with my ship.

_________________
<a href="http://www.zinch.com/Anonymous/StudentRegister.aspx?affid=1800080"><img src="http://www.zinch.com/images/tools/double1.gif" /></a>


Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:26 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar
 

Team: None
Main: Stooch
Level: 1619
Class: Gunner

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Gilkerscleugh
Post Re: Please test the UDP
jsn0X wrote:
Only problem I have is it takes a long time from logging in to getting in sync with my ship.... I hit the "use character" button and it takes 10-15 seconds to sync me with my ship.

Ive been experiencing that fairly regularly, cant toss stuff to my alt anymore.

_________________
Meep


Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:13 am
Profile E-mail
Member
User avatar
 

Team: None
Main: Utumno
Level: 20
Class: None

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: South-Western Germany
Post Re: Please test the UDP
Since I changed to UDP I have regularly desync when I radiate an AI down and want to cap it:

The PDs still hit the target at the right spot - if I aim for that spot I can cap it and the image appears at the correct place immediatly - but the picture and the targeting ring are off (at the same place), sometimes by far more than 500 distance. This does happen more often if the target is spinning/flying circles (aka when it is maneuvering when I radiate it down) when it does when the target flies in a straight line.
This "off -being" is permament afai can tell - cause I watched some of those ships for quite some time and they there still off.


Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:20 am
Profile
User avatar
 

Team: Strawberry Pancakes
Main: new charchter
Level: 2097
Class: Speed Demon

Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2004 1:25 pm
Location: /=Idaho=\
Post Re: Please test the UDP
Ok, I guess I didn't really test it too much. When I was in a gal with a lot of slaves I got desynced hard core. TCP is way better; quick logins and no desyncs.

_________________
<a href="http://www.zinch.com/Anonymous/StudentRegister.aspx?affid=1800080"><img src="http://www.zinch.com/images/tools/double1.gif" /></a>


Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar
 

Team: Aidelon
Main: goldstar-stations
Level: 2020
Class: Engineer

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 12:54 pm
Post Re: Please test the UDP
jsn0X wrote:
Ok, I guess I didn't really test it too much. When I was in a gal with a lot of slaves I got desynced hard core. TCP is way better; quick logins and no desyncs.


i did explain that TCP is far better if you want everything to get from point A to point B and backwards. problem our admins have is the throughput. not enough information is being moved from one place to another so we are getting lag as more and more players join and more and more content is added and more and more junk appears.

one thing that could be done is parts of it are made UDP and parts are kept TCP. like say bases/colonys/unimaps being UDP and fighting/ai/logins being TCP. or even some other combination. *shrugs* UDP was made to move shitloads of data fast. its a "best effort" protocol. it does its best to move the data..it doesn't care if stuff gets lost in the middle.

_________________
Image


Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:34 pm
Profile
User avatar
 

Team: None
Main: SBONE
Level: 20
Class: None

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:44 pm
Location: PA-USA
Post Re: Please test the UDP
Comcast has been fixed somewhat they were ordered by the FCC to stop packet shapeing.

I have comcast and ever sence the FCC made there ruleing Ive had no proplems with comcast no DC's at all!

I don't like this UDP as when i log in i have to wait like 15-20 seconds for the game to load every thing.

Also this UDP makes transfering stuff to alts/storage ships alot harder.

_________________
I like Games! All Games!


Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:43 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.